MCC News

Monroe Community College Employees Honored at Annual Recognition Ceremony (06/03/2014)

Note: This is an ARCHIVED news release. Information in this article may have changed since this was published.

ROCHESTER, N.Y. – June 3, 2014 – On Wednesday, May 28, 2014, Monroe Community College held its annual Employee Recognition Ceremony recognizing a number of the college’s most dedicated and distinguished employees. They include:

Debra Ake (Hilton) received the State University of New York (SUNY) Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Classified Service. Ake, who works in MCC’s Academic Support Services, was recognized for demonstrating outstanding performance both within and beyond her job description.

Associate Professor of English/Philosophy Elizabeth Johnston (Ogden) and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Geosciences Daniel Robertson (Sodus Point) received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. This honor recognizes faculty members who consistently demonstrate superb teaching, dedication to the intellectual growth of their students and commitment to excellence requiring the highest academic standards.

Associate Professor of English Anthony Leuzzi (Rochester) received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities. This distinction was awarded for outstanding performance both within and beyond his job description.

Adjunct Human Services Professor Diana Robinson (Rochester) and Adjunct Mathematics Instructor Jeannette Funkhauser (Rush) received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Adjunct Teaching. This award recognizes consistently superior teaching that provides SUNY students with instruction of the highest quality.

G. Christopher Belle-Isle (Webster), director, Career and Transfer Center, received the inaugural Bonita Jacobs Transfer Champion Award. Given by the National Institute for the Study of Transfer Students, this award recognizes individuals who have shown an exceptional commitment to transfer student success as demonstrated by their involvement at the institution, state, regional and national levels.

Suzanne Long (Bergen), associate professor, Biology, received the Dr. Wesley T. Hanson Award for Teaching Excellence. This annual MCC award recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in teaching.

Donna Mueller (Irondequoit), director, Health Services, received the MCC Award for Excellence in Professional Service. The award acknowledges the initiative of a professional staff member whose primary responsibilities focus outside the classroom.

Michael Bates (Webster), a veteran services coordinator in the Counseling, International and Veteran Services Department, received the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Award. This award is given by the League for Innovation in the Community College to celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff.

Heather Fox (East Rochester), instructor of theater, received MCC’s first Emerging Excellence Award which honors those who have gone above and beyond their job responsibilities to make the college a better place to learn and work.

Todd Korol (Rochester), associate professor of business administration, received the MCC Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award which recognizes meritorious service in student advisement.

Beverly Cahill (Greece), Laura Coriddi (Hamlin), Tom Pollizi (Henrietta) and Tina Woodruff (Irondequoit) each received MCC’s Distinguished Support Staff Awards. This award recognizes a support staff person who has shown expertise, initiative, leadership, creativity, dedication, enthusiasm and professionalism in the workplace.

Media Contact:
Janet Ekis
Marketing and Community Relations