MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS

- 2011 Safe Zone Project Don Beech, Marlene Fine, Bess Watts, Julie White
- Enough is Enough Campaign 2012 Amy Greer, Rebecca Herzog
- 2013 Express Enrollment Days Javier Ayala, Kimberley Collins, Charlotte Downing, Kim McKinsey-Mabry, Kate Smith, Laurel Sanger, Kristen Fragnoli, Kate Schiefen
- STARS Project 2014 Jessica Barone, Michael Bates, Jonathan Iuzzini, Vilma Patterson, Ann Topping, Eric Wheeler, Holly Wheeler, Paul Wheeler
- Veterans Early Alert System 2015 Michael Bates, Taine Vinci
- Scholars' Day Review 2016 Sandy Chamberlain, James Cronmiller, Rebecca Horwitz, Margaret Kaminsky, Robert Muhlnickel, Michael Ofsowitz, Scott Rudd, Mark Sample, Mary Timmons, Daniel Tyree
- Online College Catalog and Student Handbook 2017 Robert Reynolds
- 2018 The Center for Academic Reading: A Thoughtful Design Diane Clements, April Daniels, Renee Dimino, Judi Salsburg Taylor, Terry Shamblin

CRITERIA

An innovation should meet one or more of the following criteria:

- 1. Quality Students and/or staff agree that the innovation increases quality in the course, program, office, or institution.
- 2. *Efficiency* The innovation contributes to more efficient processes.
- 3. Cost Effectiveness The innovation adds value to the institution while containing or reducing costs.
- 4. *Replication* The innovation is easy to replicate at other institutions.
- 5. *Creativity* The innovation is original and creative.
- 6. *Timeliness* The innovation is not more than five years old at the institution, allowing plenty of time for it to be tested.

League Alliance colleges determine their own eligibility criteria and selection protocol and submit one winning Innovation of the Year. Nominations are encouraged from all areas of the college: full- and part-time faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel; the range of participation is determined by each college.

> Lloyd A. Holmes, Vice President, Student Services MCC's League for Innovation in the Community College Representative



STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

Every year, the League honors outstanding innovations which have been recognized by member institutions as Innovations of the Year. These innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded.

Monroe Community College



MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

LEAGUE FOR INNOVATION IN THE COMMUNITY COLLEGE **INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD**

The Innovation of the Year Award is designed to recognize League college staff members who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Each year, the League recognizes Innovations of the Year.

Employees from all staff groups (faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel) are eligible for nomination.

2019 RECIPIENTS

DWIGHT: A Campus Response to Address Student Food Insecurity

L-R: Julianna Frisch, Ambika Howell, Rebecca Mack, Sylvia Mendez, Betty Stewart, Christine Accorso, Jennifer Caruso



Monroe Community College (MCC) participated in the national Wisconsin Hope Lab survey in 2016 to assess basic needs of community college students. The results revealed a problem larger than imagined for MCC students: 40% reported being hungry and not having money for food; 50% reported eating less than they should because they couldn't afford food.

Using Human-Centered Design, an MCC team developed a creative, cost-effective, de-stigmatizing solution to the problem: **DWIGHT** (**Doing What Is Good and Healthy Together**). Implemented in fall 2017, DWIGHT is a mobile food wagon that provides: food immediately; an opening for conversations with students who MAY have food insecurities; and information about food pantries and other resources.

DWIGHT is not only a wagon; it is a persona for the wagons and campus food pantries. Each item in the wagon is tagged with: Grab a Bite...Need More for Tonight? Go to 3-126 and ask for DWIGHT! Students, faculty, and staff are fully aware of DWIGHT and support the initiative with donations of food and money.

In fall 2018, our Institutional Research Office reported a lift in the persistence rates for students who utilized a DWIGHT food pantry.

PAST RECIPIENTS

1986	Computer Literacy
	Mary Pat Pennell

- 2 + 2 Cooperative Degree Program 1987 Dick Degus, Tony Felicetti
- Mini-Computer System 1988 George Fazekas
- 1989 ECO 103: Personal Money Management and Rochester Products Initiative Joe Marchese
- Development of Innovative Teaching in Nursing 1990 Kay Charron

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS (continued)

- 1991 CD-ROM LAN-Low Cost, High Speed Access to Indexes Ann Penwarden
- Student Leadership Program 1992 Douglas Brown, Laurence Feasel, Elizabeth Stewart, Evelyn Stewart, Pamela Weidel, Joel Zaar
- Construction of MCC's Computer Integrated Laboratory 1993 Thomas DiGiacomo, George Parasida
- 1994 Student Affairs Division Staff Development Program Elizabeth Stewart, Virginia Toth, Pamela Weidel, Ann White
- Computer Assisted Language Learning for ESOL Students 1995 Suzanne El Rayess, Elizabeth Neureiter-Seely, Pilar Vilar-Glasow
- 1996 The Integrated Technical Training System Carol Burritt, Terry Keys, Joan Smith, Robert Teague
- Faculty Advisor Workshop Series 1997 Susan Baker, Mary Eshenour, Denise Klein, Susan Salvador
- Teaching Online: Asynchronous Learning and the SUNY Learning Network 1998 Marion Miller, Chris Otero-Piersante, Craig Rand, Cathryn Smith
- 1999 Liberal Arts Advisor/Advisee Mentor Program Kathy O'Shea, Holly Wynn-Preische
- 2000 MCC Student E-Mail Project Tony Wagahoff
- 2001 Leadership Institute Shirley Batistta-Provost, Douglas Brown, Jodi Oriel, Karen Ross, Elizabeth Stewart, Pamela Weidel
- Rochester Parent Network 2002 James Coffey
- Curriculum Forms Data Base 2003 Robert Bertram, Charlotte Downing, Ernest Mellas
- 2004 Workshops Initiated towards Needs of Students (WINS) Program Anne Hughes, Betty Smith
- 2005 Computerized Assessment System Audrey Bopp, Martha Kendall, Pamela Korte
- 2006 A Comprehensive Approach to Classroom Technology Support
- 2007 Watertown
- 2008 Women on the Move Ivan Matthew, Jesica Miller, Corinne Mulhall, Julie White, Patricia Williams
- 2009 The Sixth Act Caren Pita, Jim Simmonds, Ann Tippett
- 2010 Scholars' Dav

Jane Brady, Joan Cavanna, Marcie Faulkner, Marlene Fine, Howard Golove, Mark Humbert, Joyce Smith,

Michelle Bartell, Elizabeth Fell-Kelly, Marlene Ledbetter, Dale Mallory, Lorraine McHugh, Thomas McHugh,

Rob Cordeiro, Joe Gerardi, Terry Keys, Dale Mallory, Donna Pogroszewski, Richard Ryther, Brett Thompson,

Stephanie Allen, Yvonne Betts-Gamble, Diane DeHond, Delovis Olaode, Jeff Thompson, Paul Tracy, Sharron Waide Distance Dental Hygiene Project: A Partnership to Extend the MCC Dental Hygiene Program to Cuba, Dunkirk, and Charlene Blanchard, Marsha Bower, Susan Forsyth, David Lawrence, Nancy Rivaldo, Saroj Viswanathan

Gail Bouk, Maria Brandt, Paul D'Alessandris, Heather Fox, Jeffery Jones, Robert Kashmer, Midge Marshall,

Matthew Fox, Matthew Hachee, Jeffrey Kiggins, Michael Ofsowitz, Jodi Oriel, Scott Rudd, Christine Schwartzott