	MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD
PAST RECIPIENTS	
2007	Distance Dental Hygiene Project: A Partnership to Extend the MCC Dental Hygiene Program to Cuba, Dunkirk, and Watertown Charlene Blanchard, Marsha Bower, Susan Forsyth, David Lawrence, Nancy Rivaldo, Saroj Viswanathan
2008	Women on the Move Ivan Matthew, Jesica Miller, Corinne Mulhall, Julie White, Patricia Williams
2009	The Sixth Act Gail Bouk, Maria Brandt, Paul D'Alessandris, Heather Fox, Jeffery Jones, Robert Kashmer, Midge Marshall, Caren Pita, Jim Simmonds, Ann Tippett
2010	Scholars' Day Matthew Fox, Matthew Hachee, Jeffrey Kiggins, Michael Ofsowitz, Jodi Oriel, Scott Rudd, Christine Schwartzott
2011	Safe Zone Project Don Beech, Marlene Fine, Bess Watts, Julie White
2012	Enough is Enough Campaign Amy Greer, Rebecca Herzog
2013	Express Enrollment Days Javier Ayala, Kimberley Collins, Charlotte Downing, Kim McKinsey-Mabry, Kate Smith, Laurel Sanger, Kristen Fragnoli, Kate Schiefen
2014	STARS Project Jessica Barone, Michael Bates, Jonathan Iuzzini, Vilma Patterson, Ann Topping, Eric Wheeler, Holly Wheeler, Paul Wheeler
2015	Veterans Early Alert System Michael Bates, Taine Vinci
2016	Scholars' Day Review Sandy Chamberlain, James Cronmiller, Rebecca Horwitz, Margaret Kaminsky, Robert Muhlnickel, Michael Ofsowitz, Scott Rudd, Mark Sample, Mary Timmons, Daniel Tyree
2017	Online College Catalog and Student Handbook Robert Reynolds
CRITERIA	
An innovation should meet one or more of the following criteria:	
 Quality — Students and/or staff agree that the innovation increases quality in the course, program, office, or institution. Efficiency — The innovation contributes to more efficient processes. Cost Effectiveness — The innovation adds value to the institution while containing or reducing costs. Replication — The innovation is easy to replicate at other institutions. Creativity — The innovation is original and creative. Timeliness — The innovation is not more than five years old at the institution allowing plenty of time for it to be 	
tested.	
 5. Creativity — The innovation is original and creative. 6. Timeliness — The innovation is not more than five years old at the institution, allowing plenty of time for it to be 	

L vation of the Year. Nominations are encouraged from all areas of the college: full- and part-time faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel; the range of participation is determined by each college.

Lloyd A. Holmes, Vice President, Student Services MCC's League for Innovation in the Community College Representative



Monroe Community College

STATE UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK



Every year, the League honors outstanding innovations which have been recognized by member institutions as Innovations of the Year. These innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded.

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

LEAGUE FOR INNOVATION IN THE COMMUNITY COLLEGE **INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD**

The Innovation of the Year Award is designed to recognize League college staff members who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Each year, the League recognizes Innovations of the Year.

Employees from all staff groups (faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel) are eligible for nomination.

> **2018 RECIPIENTS** The Center for Academic Reading: A Thoughtful Design L-R: April Daniels, Judi Salsburg Taylor, Renee Dimino, Diane Clements, Terry Shamblin



The mission of the Center for Academic Reading (CAR) is to support reading across the college, thereby helping students to strengthen their analytical and critical reading skills and develop the disciplinary literacy necessary to succeed in content-area courses. The CAR provides individual and small-group tutoring, access to technology, resources that support reading, and a productive environment in which students can work on reading-related assignments from all disciplines.

PAST RECIPIENTS

- 1986 Computer Literacy Mary Pat Pennell
- 2 + 2 Cooperative Degree Program Dick Degus, Tony Felicetti 1987
- 1988 Mini-Computer System George Fazekas

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS (continued)

- 1989 ECO 103: Personal Money Management and Rochester Products Initiative Joe Marchese
- 1990 Development of Innovative Teaching in Nursing Kay Charron
- CD-ROM LAN-Low Cost, High Speed Access to Indexes 1991 Ann Penwarden
- 1992 Student Leadership Program Douglas Brown, Laurence Feasel, Elizabeth Stewart, Evelyn Stewart, Pamela Weidel, Joel Zaar
- Construction of MCC's Computer Integrated Laboratory 1993 Thomas DiGiacomo, George Parasida
- Student Affairs Division Staff Development Program Jane Brady, Joan Cavanna, Marcie Faulkner, Marlene Fine, Howard Golove, Mark Humbert, Joyce Smith, 1994 Elizabeth Stewart, Virginia Toth, Pamela Weidel, Ann White
- Computer Assisted Language Learning for ESOL Students Suzanne El Rayess, Elizabeth Neureiter-Seely, Pilar Vilar-Glasow 1995
- The Integrated Technical Training System 1996 Carol Burritt, Terry Keys, Joan Smith, Robert Teague
- Faculty Advisor Workshop Series Susan Baker, Mary Eshenour, Denise Klein, Susan Salvador 1997
- 1998 Marion Miller, Chris Otero-Piersante, Craig Rand, Cathryn Smith
- Liberal Arts Advisor/Advisee Mentor Program 1999 Kathy O'Shea, Holly Wynn-Preische
- 2000 MCC Student E-Mail Project Tony Wagahoff
- 2001 Leadership Institute Shirley Batistta-Provost, Douglas Brown, Jodi Oriel, Karen Ross, Elizabeth Stewart, Pamela Weidel
- Rochester Parent Network 2002 James Coffey
- 2003 Curriculum Forms Data Base Robert Bertram, Charlotte Downing, Ernest Mellas
- Workshops Initiated towards Needs of Students (WINS) Program 2004 Anne Hughes, Betty Smith
- Computerized Assessment System 2005 Audrey Bopp, Martha Kendall, Pamela Korte
- 2006

Teaching Online: Asynchronous Learning and the SUNY Learning Network Michelle Bartell, Elizabeth Fell-Kelly, Marlene Ledbetter, Dale Mallory, Lorraine McHugh, Thomas McHugh,

Rob Cordeiro, Joe Gerardi, Terry Keys, Dale Mallory, Donna Pogroszewski, Richard Ryther, Brett Thompson,

A Comprehensive Approach to Classroom Technology Support Stephanie Allen, Yvonne Betts-Gamble, Diane DeHond, Delovis Olaode, Jeff Thompson, Paul Tracy, Sharron Waide