Article IV of our bylaws as they are currently in effect ...

ARTICLE IV MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. Voting Members

Membership of the Faculty Senate shall be elected from the Voting Faculty. The Voting Faculty shall include the following: full time and part time personnel with academic rank; and full and part time personnel in the following categories: advisors, assistant directors, associate directors, coaches, clinical supervisors, coordinators, counselors, department chairpersons, directors (except as indicated in Section 2), lecturers, librarians, managers, professional staff, specialists, technical assistants and other certified instructional staff. Part time status is defined in Article 51, Section B of the Faculty Association contract. Grant-funded personnel with the above-listed job titles or who hold academic rank are included as voting faculty.

Section 2. Non-voting Members

The following personnel are non-voting members of the Faculty Senate: President of the College, Provost, Vice-Presidents, Executive Assistant to the President, General Counsel, Assistants to the President, Assistants to the Vice Presidents, Associate Vice Presidents, Assistant Vice Presidents, Executive Dean, Deans, Associate Deans, Assistant Deans, Director of Human Resources, Controller, Internal Auditor, Director of Public Safety, adjunct faculty, emeritus personnel, the Vice President of Student Government Association of the Brighton campus and the President of the Student Events and Governance Association of the Damon campus or their designees, personnel of the MCC Foundation and personnel of the MCC Association.

Section 3. Verification of Voting Status

In 2017-2018 NEG Proposed the following changes...
These were passed by the Faculty, but were not approved by the Administration ...

ARTICLE IV MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. Senators

- A) Senators are the voting members of the Faculty Senate, and shall be eligible full- or part-time teaching and non-teaching faculty members elected from the Voting Faculty as defined in Article IV, Section 2.
- B) The Vice-president of the Student Government Association of the Brighton campus (SGA) and the President of the Student Events and Governance Association (SEGA) shall be considered delegates to the Faculty Senate with non-voting status.

Section 1 Section 2. Voting and Non-Voting Members Faculty

A) Membership of the Faculty Senate shall be elected from the Voting Faculty. The Voting Faculty shall include the following: full time and part time personnel teaching faculty with academic rank (excluding adjunct faculty); and full and part time personnel non-teaching faculty in the following categories: advisors, assistant directors, associate directors, coaches, clinical supervisors, coordinators, counselors, department chairpersons, directors (except as indicated in Section 2) those not covered by the Faculty Association contract), lecturers, librarians, managers, professional staff, specialists, and technical assistants and other certified instructional staff. Part time status is defined in Article 51, Section B of the Faculty Association contract. Grant-funded personnel with the above-listed job titles or who hold academic rank are included as voting faculty.

B) Those individuals who are not listed as Voting Faculty in Article IV, Section 2.A., but are recognized by College policy to be members of the faculty, shall be considered Non-Voting Faculty.

Section 2. Non-voting Members

The following personnel are non-voting members of the Faculty Senate: President of the College, Provost, Vice Presidents, Executive Assistant to the President, General Counsel, Assistants to the President, Assistants to the Vice Presidents, Associate Vice Presidents, Assistant Vice Presidents, Executive Dean, Deans, Associate Deans, Assistant Deans, Director of Human Resources, Controller, Internal Auditor, Director of Public Safety, adjunct faculty, emeritus personnel, the Vice President of Student Government Association of the Brighton campus and the President of the Student Events and Governance Association of the Damon campus or their designees, personnel of the MCC Foundation and personnel of the MCC Association.

Section 3. Verification of Voting Status

In 2018-2019 NEG is proposing we define a *member* as someone with "...the right to *attend meetings*, to *make motions*, to *speak in debate*, and to *vote*." – Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised 11th edition.

ARTICLE IV MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. Senators

- A) Senators are the voting members of the Faculty Senate, and shall be eligible full- or part-time teaching and non-teaching faculty members elected from the Voting Faculty as defined in Article IV, Section 2.
- B) The Vice-president of the Student Government Association of the Brighton campus (SGA) and the President of the Student Events and Governance Association (SEGA) shall be considered delegates to the Faculty Senate with non-voting status.

Section 2. Voting and Non-Voting Faculty

A) The Voting Faculty shall include the following: full- and part-time teaching faculty with academic rank (excluding adjunct faculty); and full- and part-time non-teaching faculty in the following categories: advisors, assistant directors, associate directors, coaches, clinical supervisors, coordinators, counselors, directors (except those not covered by the Faculty Association contract), librarians, managers, specialists, and technical assistants. Part-time status is defined in Article 51, Section B of the Faculty Association contract as currently amended. Grant-funded personnel with the above-listed job titles or who hold academic rank are also included as voting faculty.

B) Those individuals who are not listed as Voting Faculty in Article IV, Section 2.A., but are recognized by College policy to be members of the faculty, shall be considered Non-Voting Faculty.

Section 3. Verification of Voting Status

Proposed Article IV clean copy.

ARTICLE IV MEMBERSHIP

Section 1. Senators

Senators are the voting members of the Faculty Senate, and shall be eligible full- or part-time teaching and non-teaching faculty members elected from the Voting Faculty as defined in Article IV, Section 2.

Section 2. Voting Faculty

The Voting Faculty shall include the following: full- and part-time teaching faculty with academic rank (excluding adjunct faculty); and full- and part-time non-teaching faculty in the following categories: advisors, assistant directors, associate directors, coaches, clinical supervisors, coordinators, counselors, directors (except those not covered by the Faculty Association contract), librarians, managers, specialists, and technical assistants. Part-time status is defined in the Faculty Association contract as currently amended. Grant-funded personnel with the above-listed job titles or who hold academic rank are also included as voting faculty.

Section 3. Verification of Voting Status