MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS continued

- 2006 A Comprehensive Approach to a Classroom Technology Support Stephanie Allen, Yvonne Betts-Gamble, Diane DeHond, Delovis Olaode, Jeff Thompson, Paul Tracy, Sharron Waide
- 2007 Distance Dental Hygiene Project: A Partnership to Extend the MCC Dental Hygiene Program to Cuba, Dunkirk, and Watertown David Lawrence, Susan Forsyth, Charlene Blanchard, Marsha Bower, Nancy Rivaldo, Saroj Viswanathan
- Women on the Move Ivan Matthew, Jesica Miller, Corinne Mulhall, Julie White, Patricia Williams
- 2009 The Sixth Act Maria Brandt, Gail Bouk, Jeffery Jones, Caren Pita, Paul D'Alessandris, Heather Fox, Jim Simmonds, Midge Marshall, Ann Tippett, Robert Kashmer
- 2010 Scholars' Day Matthew Fox, Matthew Hachee, Jeffrey Kiggins, Michael Ofsowitz, Jodi Oriel, Scott Rudd, Christine Schwartzott
- 2011 Safe Zone Project
 Julie White, Marlene Fine, Don Beech, Bess Watts

CRITERIA

An innovation should meet one or more of the following criteria:

- 1. **Quality**—Students and/or staff agree that the innovation increases quality in the course, program, office, or institution. Evidence of quality may include student ratings or letters of support from colleagues. Quality is difficult to measure, so the committees may want to identify characteristics that together help define "quality" at their institution.
- 2. **Efficiency**—Meaningful evidence indicates that the innovation contributes to more efficient practices, processes, functions, or other ways of working or participating in college activity. Student ratings, perceptions of outside consultants, and pre– and post– comparison of time involved are examples of evidence.
- 3. **Cost Effectiveness**—Meaningful evidence indicates that the innovation adds a value to the institution while containing or reducing costs. Cost data will serve as evidence.
- 4. **Replication**—The innovation selected can be replicated in or adapted by other institutions with a minimum of difficulty.
- 5. **Creativity**—The innovation is based on an original concept or is a creative adaptation of existing practices, processes, etc. A description of the program or letters from experts are examples of evidence.
- 6. **Timeliness**—The innovation should not be more than five years old in the institution, but it should have been in place long enough to meet the selection criteria.

Each of the League members will announce the Innovation of the Year program. It is recommended that each League member create a committee to establish criteria and select the award winner. Applications should be encouraged from all areas of the college: faculty (including part-time), administrators, and support personnel; the range of participation is to be determined by each college.

Dr. Susan M. Salvador, Vice President, Student Services MCC's League for Innovation in the Community College Representative

May 2012



ANNUAL INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD 2012

Every year the League honors outstanding innovations which have been recognized by member institutions as Innovations of the Year. These innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded.

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

LEAGUE FOR INNOVATION IN THE COMMUNITY COLLEGE INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

Development of Innovative Teaching in Nursing

Kay Charron

The Innovation of the Year Award is designed to recognize League college staff members who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Each year the League recognizes "Innovations of the Year."

Employees from all employee groups (faculty, including part-time; administrators; and support personnel) are eligible for nomination.

2012 RECIPIENTS ENOUGH IS ENOUGH CAMPAIGN REBECCA HERZOG, AMY GREER



The Enough is Enough Campaign at Monroe Community College is a successful collaboration between staff, students, faculty, and administrators. This campaign is making a positive impact on campus culture through a wide variety of programs and activities developed to address violence prevention in the community and on campus.

	prevention in the community and on campus.	ı
PAST RECIPIENTS		
1986	Computer Literacy Mary Pat Pennell	
1987	2 + 2 Cooperative Degree Program Dick Degus, Tony Felicetti	
1988	Mini-Computer System George Fazekas	
1989	ECO 103: Personal Money Management and Rochester Products Initiative Joe Marchese	

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

CD-ROM LAN—Low Cost, High Speed Access to Indexes

PAST RECIPIENTS continued

	Ann Penwarden
1992	Student Leadership Program Douglas Brown, Laurence Feasel, Betty Stewart, Pamela Weidel, Evelyn Stewart, Joel Zaar
1993	Construction of MCC's Computer Integrated Laboratory Thomas DiGiacomo, George Parasida
1994	Student Affairs Division Staff Devlopment Program Jane Bracy, Joan Cavanna, Marcie Faulkner, Marlene Fine, Howard Golove, Mark Humbert, Joyce Smith, Betty Stewart, Virginia Toth, Pamela Weidel, Ann White
1995	Computer Assisted Language Learning for ESOL Students Suzanne El Rayess, Elizabeth Neureiter-Seely, Pilar Vilar-Glasow
1996	The Integrated Technical Training System Carol Burritt, Terry Keys, Joan Smith, Robert Teague
1997	Faculty Advisor Workshop Series Susan Baker, Mary Eshenour, Denise Klein, Susan Salvador
1998	Teaching Online: Asynchronous Learning and the SUNY Learning Network Michelle Bartell, Elizabeth Fell-Kelly, Marlene Ledbetter, Dale Mallory, Lorraine McHugh, Thomas McHugh, Marion Miller, Chris Otero-Piersante, Craig Rand, Cathryn Smith
1999	Liberal Arts Advisor/Advisee Mentor Program Kathy O'Shea, Holly Wynn-Preische
2000	MCC Student E-Mail Project Rob Cordeiro, Joe Gerardi, Terry Keys, Dale Mallory, Donna Pogroszewski, Richard Ryther, Brett Thompson, Tony Wagahoff
2001	Leadership Institute Shirley Batistta-Provost, Douglas Brown, Jodi Oriel, Karen Ross, Betty Stewart, Pamerla Weidel
2002	Rochester Parent Network James Coffey
2003	Curriculum Forms Data Base Robert Bertram, Charlotte Downing, Ernest Mellas
2004	Workshops Initiated Towards Needs of Students (WINS) Program Anne Hughes, Betty Smith
2005	Computerized Assessment System Audrey J. Bopp, Martha Kendale, Pamela D. Korte