



September 23, 2010

PRESENT: Chris Abbott (President) S. Adrion, D, Augustine, A. Benjamin, P. Bishop, B. Bower, A. Conte, S. Crews, B. Connell, (Vice President) B. Dery, B. Edelback, M. Ernsthausen, S Farrington, M. Fine, C, Forde,

K. Frantz, M Fugate, K. Mooney-Graves, E. Grissing, S Hagreen, L. Judd, J. Mahar, J. McKenna, M. Ofsowitz, P. Ornt, H. Pierre-Philippe (Secretary) C. Powers, E. Ripton, P. Sarantis, C. Sardone, T. Schichler, D. Shaw, C Silvio, D. Smith, R. Smith, J. Volland, H. Williams, A. Wilson, M. Witz, H. Wynn-Preische.

ABSENT: L. Bartholome, G. Fazekas, M. Fine, R. Kennedy, E. Lanzafame, D. Olaode, P. Peterson, S Battista-Provost, B. Ripton, R, Stevens, S. Weider,

GUESTS: D. Cecero, R. Rodriguez, K. Collins, C. Downing

I. Meeting called to order: 3:35pm

Skip Bailey – Athletic Director, came to discuss the Code of Conduct for athletes. He described himself as an MCC student athlete, who graduated on time (4 semesters) and was on the Honor Roll. He went on to the University of Colorado, on a full baseball scholarship.

He would like to see faculty and coaches work toward the same outcome, to put out incredibly productive young people. The athletic program is founded on the following principles:

- 1) Commitment to academic excellence, 2) Commitment to personal development,
- 3) Commitment to service, 4) Commitment to career development, 5) Commitment to athletic training.

Academic advisors for athletes are M. Kelly and S. Galvano. They should be contacted if there are any issues with any athletes. For example, if athletes have 2 unexcused absences, they could be jeopardizing their participation in athletic competitions. D. Rhodes can also be contacted for any concerns. The students are to submit to their faculty members a completed Code of Conduct form and a list of possible absences due to athletic events.

The department already has a progress report for student athletes to be used to gauge their academic progress during the semester. They are working on having this report submitted through Banner.

He wants our support to ensure that our students are successful as students and athletes.

II. Announcements (C. Abbott)

Welcomed everyone back for the Fall semester.

The annual FS update meeting with Dr. Kress is scheduled for October 11th. Please forward any concerns/issues you would like to be included as part of the agenda.

A call for volunteers was sent out to be part of a committee on Assessment. Based on the work begun by last year's Ad Hoc Assessment committee, it was determined that a continuing committee would be needed to carry on with the process. Initially, the terms will be staggered to maintain consistency, and members will eventually serve a 3 year term. More information will be available when the committee is in place.

Welcomed new senators and presented them all with a small gift from the Senate. D, Augustine, A. Conte, B. Edelbach, S. Farrington, K. Frantz, D. Olaode, M. Oliver, P. Sarantis, C. Silvio and J. Smith.

III. Approval of Minutes:

Minutes of June 10, 2010 Faculty Senate meeting approved.

IV. Standing Committee Reports

Academic Policies – E. Grissing

No report

Curriculum – M. Ernsthausen

4 course deactivation and revision

CD1F PLA 210 Injection Molding

CD2F PLA 211 Plastic Product Design

CD3F PLA 110 Introduction to Plastics

CD4F PLA 212 Introduction to Polymeric Materials

2 New Courses

NC1F GEO 195 Field Studies in the Geosciences

NC27SPSY 180 Fundamentals of APA Style

They will be working on definition of values, ethics and perspectives. They will also be reviewing the general education definitions, as well as the courses and their classification.

NEG - A. Wilson

No report

SCAA – M. Fine

C. Abbott reported that the committee has begun the interviewing process for the VP for Economic Development and Innovative Workforce Services and will finish on Monday, October 4th. They expect that the finalists will be on campus during the week of October 10th for open hearings. The SCAA ad hoc committee for the Provost/Academic V.P. search has been chosen and they have begun the process. The interviews are scheduled for November 13th and 14th. The Administrative committee, chaired by C. Abbott, has also been chosen and is following a similar process. They will be meeting soon to discuss the list of candidates and decide on possible candidates to interview.

Planning - D. Shaw

No report

Professional Development – C. Powers

After two years, the committee has completed the work of streamlining and clarifying the awards' process. This year, the focus will be on improving the communication process between the applicants and the committee. The intent is to provide frequent and timely information so that individuals and departments know exactly what is required of any award nominee.

Thank you to M. Ofsowitz for working on the PDC web site, which will allow for a smoother flow of information.

NISOD information is currently available and the application packets are due at the end of October. Hanson and Leave information are also available. The committee is still working on updating the Chancellor's award. If anyone is interested in nominating someone for one of the Chancellor's Awards, they would benefit by starting their preparations now. Chancellor's application packets are due in early winter and SUNY determines the due date. P. Ornt has agreed to chair the sub-committee on campus – wide workshops. A. Lee, new HR liaison to the committee will also be involved. H. Williams will be chairing the sub-committee on awards

V. Student Announcements

Jack Hill – Student Representative

October 11th – National Coming out Day events will be held in the Atrium. Encouraging the faculty to come and support the events.

SGA voter registration drive – please encourage your students to take advantage of this opportunity.

Media committee will be working to streamline the many and varied communication medium on campus. This will provide a forum to all media related area, to share ideas and provide better access of information to students.

VI. Old Business None

X. New Business None

Meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Abbott President Harry Pierre-Philippe Secretary

Minutes approved at the October 21, 2010 All College Faculty Senate Meeting.