

Monroe Community College Student Government Association Senate Meeting Agenda for Tuesday, October 12, 2010 2:15 p.m. - Forum (3-130)

I. CALL TO ORDER

A. Roll Call

II. SPEAK TO THE SENATE

III. REPORTS

- A. Speaker
- **B.** President
- C. Vice President
- **D.** Senators
- E. Campus Center Advisor Stewart
- F. Faculty Advisor McCauley
- G. Campus Center Advisor Herzog

IV. NEW BUSINESS

1. ACTION ITEMS (Items requiring a Senate vote)

a. Resolution to charter the Honors Council

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approves the Constitution as submitted by the Honors Council members, and further be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate accepts the petition for charter as submitted, and approves the chartering of the Honors Council.

b. Resolution to approve appointments to various Committees

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate consents to the appointments of the following to sit on the said Committees for the 2010-2011 academic school year:

Lisa Armstrong on the Parking Appeals Committee;

Jason Childers, Mirlin Moorefield, and Jessica Monroe on the Food Service Committee;

Patrick Harney on the Media Committee:

Tina Li, Jemi Patel, Mirlin Moorefield and Joshua Ramirez on the By-Laws Committee;

Mirlin Moorefield, Simon Ruhindi, and Patricia Giverson on the Library Student Advisory Committee;

Erick Hannah, Christopher Hollander, Rimsha Khan, Tina Li, Jemi Patel, Luis Perez, and Travis Sharp for Club Constitution Committee.

V. QUESTIONS & COMMENTS

VI. ADJOURNMENT

VII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Student Senators:

Academic Clubs Senator Li At-Large Senator DiPonzio At-Large Senator Shaffner Athletics Senator Sharp

Interdisciplinary Studies Senator Wassel-Saxe

Liberal Arts Senator Ramirez Residence Hall Senator Young

Science, Health & Business Senator Snyder

Service Clubs Senator Hannah Social Clubs Senator Blue

Technical Education Senator Lucas

President:

Jason Childers **Vice President:**

Christopher Hollander

Speaker/Media Senator: Campus Mirlin Moorefield

Deputy Speaker/At-Large Senator

Jack Hills

Assistant Deputy Speaker/CAB Senator

Diamond Simmons

Campus Center Advisor:

Elizabeth Stewart **Faculty Advisor:** Joseph McCauley **Center Advisor:** Rebecca Herzog

Resolutions for Brighton Campus Student Government Association October 12, 2010 Senate Meeting

Resolution to charter the Honors Council

Whereas, under Article III, Section 6C(g) of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, The Senate shall "accept or reject the chartering of clubs and organizations", and

Whereas, the members of the Honors Council have submitted a petition for charter, and

Whereas, the Honors Council has met all requirements for chartering set forth by the Senate and the By-Laws, therefore be it *Resolved*, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approves the Constitution as submitted by the Honors Council members, and further be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate accepts the petition for charter as submitted, and approves the chartering of the Honors Council.

Resolution to approve Appointments to Various Committees

Whereas, under Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, the President shall nominate, and by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint, all members of standing and ad-hoc committees, and

Whereas, the President has nominated the following members of the Student Government Association to sit on the following Committees:

Lisa Armstrong on the Parking Appeals Committee;

Jason Childers, Mirlin Moorefield, and Jessica Monroe on the Food Service Committee;

Patrick Harney on the Media Committee;

Tina Li, Jemi Patel, Mirlin Moorefield and Joshua Ramirez on the By-Laws Committee;

Mirlin Moorefield, Simon Ruhindi, and Patricia Giverson on the Library Student Advisory Committee;

Erick Hannah, Christopher Hollander, Rimsha Khan, Tina Li, Jemi Patel, Luis Perez, and Travis Sharp for Club Constitution Committee; therefore be it

Resolved, that the Senate consents to the appointment of the above names to sit on the said Committees for the 2010-2011 academic school year.