MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS

- Distance Dental Hygiene Project: A Partnership to Extend the MCC Dental Hygiene Program to Cuba, Dunkirk, and
 - Charlene Blanchard, Marsha Bower, Susan Forsyth, David Lawrence, Nancy Rivaldo, Saroj Viswanathan
- Ivan Matthew, Jesica Miller, Corinne Mulhall, Julie White, Patricia Williams
- - Gail Bouk, Maria Brandt, Paul D'Alessandris, Heather Fox, Jeffery Jones, Robert Kashmer, Midge Marshall, Caren Pita, Jim Simmonds, Ann Tippett
- 2010 Scholars' Day
- Matthew Fox, Matthew Hachee, Jeffrey Kiggins, Michael Ofsowitz, Jodi Oriel, Scott Rudd, Christine Schwartzott
- Safe Zone Project 2011

Don Beech, Marlene Fine, Bess Watts, Julie White

Enough is Enough Campaign

Amy Greer, Rebecca Herzog

Express Enrollment Days

Javier Ayala, Kimberley Collins, Charlotte Downing, Kim McKinsey-Mabry, Kate Smith, Laurel Sanger, Kristen Fragnoli, Kate Schiefen

STARS Project

Jessica Barone, Michael Bates, Jonathan Iuzzini, Vilma Patterson, Ann Topping, Eric Wheeler, Holly Wheeler, Paul

Veterans Early Alert System

Michael Bates, Taine Vinci

CRITERIA

An innovation should meet one or more of the following criteria:

- 1. Quality Students and/or staff agree that the innovation increases quality in the course, program, office, or
- 2. Efficiency The innovation contributes to more efficient processes.
- 3. Cost Effectiveness The innovation adds value to the institution while containing or reducing costs.
- 4. *Replication* The innovation is easy to replicate at other institutions.
- 5. *Creativity* The innovation is original and creative.
- 6. Timeliness The innovation is not more than five years old at the institution, allowing plenty of time for it to be

League Alliance colleges determine their own eligibility criteria and selection protocol and submit one winning Innovation of the Year. Nominations are encouraged from all areas of the college: full- and part-time faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel; the range of participation is determined by each college.

> Lloyd A. Holmes, Vice President, Student Services MCC's League for Innovation in the Community College Representative

Fall 2016



ANNUAL INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

Every year, the League honors outstanding innovations which have been recognized by member institutions as Innovations of the Year. These innovations represent capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded.

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

LEAGUE FOR INNOVATION IN THE COMMUNITY COLLEGE INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

The Innovation of the Year Award is designed to recognize League college staff members who have designed and implemented a significant innovation. Each year, the League recognizes Innovations of the Year.

Employees from all staff groups (faculty, administrators, and professional and support personnel) are eligible for nomination.

2016 RECIPIENTS SCHOLARS' DAY REVIEW

Left to right - front: Sandy Chamberlain, Rebecca Horwitz, Margaret Kaminsky, Mark Sample; back: Mary Timmons, James Cronmiller, Daniel Tyree, Scott Rudd (Associate Editor), Michael Ofsowitz (Editor-in-Chief); missing: Robert Muhlnickel



Scholars' Day Review (SDR) is a faculty-juried journal showcasing the exceptional presentation papers of students who participated in Monroe Community College's Scholars' Day event. Scholars' Day is an undergraduate academic conference with presentations, posters, and performances from members of the College community. Student presenters are invited to submit papers for possible publication in SDR. First published in fall 2013 and now in its third volume, SDR (the only research journal from a community college currently listed with the Council on Undergraduate Research) has quickly established itself as a crowning achievement in the eyes of our most academically committed students. SDR provides a rare opportunity for community college students to enjoy the fruits of a formal publication in a juried periodical and for Monroe Community College to add to its public reputation for academic excellence.

PAST RECIPIENTS

1986	Computer Literacy
	Mary Pat Pennell

1987 2 + 2 Cooperative Degree Program Dick Degus, Tony Felicetti

1988 Mini-Computer System George Fazekas

MCC'S INNOVATION OF THE YEAR AWARD

PAST RECIPIENTS (continued)

1989	ECO 103: Personal Money Management and Rochester Products Initiative Joe Marchese
1990	Development of Innovative Teaching in Nursing Kay Charron
1991	CD-ROM LAN—Low Cost, High Speed Access to Indexes Ann Penwarden
1992	Student Leadership Program Douglas Brown, Laurence Feasel, Elizabeth Stewart, Evelyn Stewart, Pamela Weidel, Joel Zaar
1993	Construction of MCC's Computer Integrated Laboratory Thomas DiGiacomo, George Parasida
1994	Student Affairs Division Staff Development Program Jane Brady, Joan Cavanna, Marcie Faulkner, Marlene Fine, Howard Golove, Mark Humbert, Joyce Smith, Elizabeth Stewart, Virginia Toth, Pamela Weidel, Ann White
1995	Computer Assisted Language Learning for ESOL Students Suzanne El Rayess, Elizabeth Neureiter-Seely, Pilar Vilar-Glasow
1996	The Integrated Technical Training System Carol Burritt, Terry Keys, Joan Smith, Robert Teague
1997	Faculty Advisor Workshop Series Susan Baker, Mary Eshenour, Denise Klein, Susan Salvador
1998	Teaching Online: Asynchronous Learning and the SUNY Learning Network Michelle Bartell, Elizabeth Fell-Kelly, Marlene Ledbetter, Dale Mallory, Lorraine McHugh, Thomas McHugh, Marion Miller, Chris Otero-Piersante, Craig Rand, Cathryn Smith
1999	Liberal Arts Advisor/Advisee Mentor Program Kathy O'Shea, Holly Wynn-Preische
2000	MCC Student E-Mail Project Rob Cordeiro, Joe Gerardi, Terry Keys, Dale Mallory, Donna Pogroszewski, Richard Ryther, Brett Thompson, Tony Wagahoff
2001	Leadership Institute Shirley Batistta-Provost, Douglas Brown, Jodi Oriel, Karen Ross, Elizabeth Stewart, Pamela Weidel
2002	Rochester Parent Network James Coffey
2003	Curriculum Forms Data Base Robert Bertram, Charlotte Downing, Ernest Mellas
2004	Workshops Initiated towards Needs of Students (WINS) Program Anne Hughes, Betty Smith
2005	Computerized Assessment System Audrey Bopp, Martha Kendall, Pamela Korte
2006	A Comprehensive Approach to Classroom Technology Support Stephanie Allen, Yvonne Betts-Gamble, Diane DeHond, Delovis Olaode, Jeff Thompson, Paul Tracy, Sharron Waide