

Monroe Community College Student Government Association Senate Meeting Agenda for Tuesday, March 16, 2010 2:15 p.m. - Forum (3-130)

I. CALL TO ORDER

- A. Roll Call
- **B.** Approval of February 23, 2010 Senate Meeting Minutes
- C. Approval of February 26, 2010 Emergency Meeting Minutes

II. SPEAK TO THE SENATE

III. REPORTS

- A. Speaker
- B. Deputy Speaker
- C. President
- **D.** Vice President
- E. Senators
- **F.** Committee Reports
- G. Campus Center Advisor
- H. Faculty Advisor

IV. NEW BUSINESS

1. ACTION ITEMS (Items requiring a Senate vote)

a. Resolution to Appoint Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approves the appointment of Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic year.

b. Resolution to Remove Committee Members

Resolved, that the Senate consents to the removal of Rahul Raja, Erin Markum, Fred Brown, Tima Marathe, Anthony Proietti, and Sarah Gothard from the Events Committee for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic school year.

c. Resolution to Approve Committee Members for the Events Committee

Resolved, that the Senate consents to the appointment of Kevin Pizarro to sit on the Events Committee for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic school year.

V. QUESTIONS & COMMENTS

VI. ADJOURNMENT

VII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Student Senators:
At-Large Senator Carey
Athletics Senator Pizarro
CAB Senator Young
Liberal Arts Senator Gothard
Media Senator Moorefield
Residence Hall Senator Pritchard
Service Clubs Senator Monroe

President: Campus Center Advisor:

Jason Childers Elizabeth Stewart

Vice President: Faculty Advisor:

Tima Marathe Joseph McCauley

Speaker/Science, Health & Business Senator:

Simon Ruhindi

Resolutions for March 16, 2010

<u>Resolution to Appoint Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker</u> *Whereas*, the Speaker of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate has appointed Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker, and

Whereas, the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate is charged with confirming Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker, be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approves the appointment of Douglas Moorefield as Deputy Speaker for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic year.

Resolution to Remove Committee Members

Whereas, under Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, the President shall nominate, and by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint or remove, all members of standing and ad-hoc committees, and

Whereas, the President has chosen to remove Rahul Raja, Erin Markum, Fred Brown, Tima Marathe, Anthony Proietti, and Sarah Gothard from the Events Committee, therefore be it

Resolved, that the Senate consents to the removal of Rahul Raja, Erin Markum, Fred Brown, Tima Marathe, Anthony Proietti, and Sarah Gothard from the Events Committee for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic school year.

Resolution to Approve Committee Members for the Events Committee

Whereas, under Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, the President shall nominate, and by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint, all members of standing and ad-hoc committees, and

Whereas, the President has nominated Kevin Pizarro to sit on the Events Committee, therefore be it Resolved, that the Senate consents to the appointment of Kevin Pizarro to sit on the Events Committee for the remainder of the 2009-2010 academic school year.