

Monroe Community College Student Government Association **Senate Meeting Agenda for** Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:15 p.m. - Forum (3-130)

I. CALL TO ORDER

A. Roll Call

II. SPEAK TO THE SENATE

III. REPORTS

- A. Speaker
- B. President
- **C.** Vice President
- **D.** Senators
- E. Campus Center Advisor Stewart
- F. Faculty Advisor McCauley
- G. Campus Center Advisor Herzog

IV. NEW BUSINESS

- 1. ACTION ITEMS (Items requiring a Senate vote)
 - a. Resolution to approve the appointment of Jon Cahill-Weather to the MCC Association, Inc., Board of

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointment of Jon Cahill-Weather to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve the appointment of Luis Perez to the MCC Association, Inc., Board of Directors Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointment of Luis Perez to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors for the 2010 - 2011 academic year.

c. Resolution to approve Vincent Palma as the Campus Environment Coordinator

Resolved that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve, using due process, Vincent Palma as the Campus Environment Coordinator for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve Michael J. Gray II as the Intercampus Liaison

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association approve, using due process, Michael J. Gray II as the Intercampus Liaison for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve appointments to the Rock the Vote Committee

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointments of Vice President Christopher Hollander as Chair and Diamond Simmons, Jonathan Muniz, Rimsha Kahn, and Lisa Armstrong to the Rock The Vote Committee for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve Jemi Patel as the Diversity Coordinator

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve Jemi Patel as the Diversity Coordinator for the 2010-2011 academic year.

V. OUESTIONS & COMMENTS

VI. ADJOURNMENT

VII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Student Senators:

Academic Clubs Senator Li At-Large Senator DiPonzio At-Large Senator Shaffner Athletics Senator Sharp **CAB Senator Simmons** Liberal Arts Senator Ramirez Science, Health & Business Senator Snyder Service Clubs Senator Hannah Social Clubs Senator Blue

President: Jason Childers Vice President: Christopher Hollander Speaker/Media Senator: Mirlin Moorefield Deputy Speaker/At-Large Senator

Jack Hills

Campus Center Advisor: Elizabeth Stewart **Faculty Advisor:** Joseph McCauley **Campus Center Advisor:** Rebecca Herzog

Resolutions for the September 21, 2010 Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate Meeting

Resolution to approve the appointment of Jon Cahill-Weather to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors

Whereas, Section 8.2.2 of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association By-laws state that the President of the Student Government Association shall recommend students to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors, and

Whereas, Section 8.2.2.1 states all students recommended to the Board by the Brighton Campus Student Government Association President must personally appear before the Student Government Association Senate and be approved by the Senate with a two-thirds vote, be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointment of Jon Cahill-Weather to the MCC Association Inc. Board of Directors, for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve the appointment of Luis Perez to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors

Whereas, Section 8.2.2 of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association By-laws state that the President of the Student Government Association shall recommend students to the MCC Association Inc., Board of Directors, and

Whereas, Section 8.2.2 1 states all students recommended to the Board by the Brighton Campus Student Government Association

Whereas, Section 8.2.2.1 states all students recommended to the Board by the Brighton Campus Student Government Association President must personally appear before the Student Government Association Senate and be approved by the Senate with a two-thirds vote, be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointment of Luis Perez to the MCC Association Inc. Board of Directors for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve Vincent Palma as the Campus Environment Coordinator

Whereas, Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution states that the President shall appoint, with the oversight and consent of the Student Senate, all members of the Presidential Cabinet, be it *Resolved,* that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve, using due process, Vincent Palma as the Campus Environment Coordinator for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve Michael J. Gray II as the Intercampus Liaison

Whereas, Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution states the President shall appoint, with the oversight and consent of the Student Senate, all members of the Presidential Cabinet, be it *Resolved,* that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association approve, using due process, Michael J. Gray II as the Intercampus Liaison for the 2010 – 2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve the Rock the Vote Committee

Whereas, Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, the President shall nominate, and by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint members of ad-hoc committees, and Whereas, the President of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association appoints Vice President Christopher Hollander as Chair and Diamond Simmons, Jonathan Muniz, Rimsha Kahn, and Lisa Armstrong to the Rock The Vote Committee, be it Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the appointments of Vice President Christopher Hollander as Chair and Diamond Simmons, Jonathan Muniz, Rimsha Kahn, and Lisa Armstrong to the Rock The Vote Committee for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Resolution to approve Jemi Patel as the Diversity Coordinator

Whereas, Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution states the President shall appoint, with the oversight and consent of the Student Senate, all members of the Presidential Cabinet, be it *Resolved*, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve Jemi Patel for the Diversity Coordinator for the 2010-2011 academic year.