

Monroe Community College Student Government Association Senate Meeting Agenda for Tuesday, November 10, 2009 2:15 p.m. - Forum (3-130)

I. CALL TO ORDER

- A. Roll Call
- B. Approval of October 20, 2009 Senate Meeting Minutes

II. SPEAK TO THE SENATE

III. REPORTS

- A. Speaker
- **B.** Deputy Speaker
- C. President
- **D.** Vice President
- E. Senators
- **F.** Committee Reports
- G. Campus Center Advisor
- H. Faculty Advisor

IV. NEW BUSINESS

1. ACTION ITEMS (Items requiring a Senate vote)

a. <u>Resolution to approve the Funding of \$900 to the Campus Ambassadors and the Holocaust, Genocide</u> <u>and Human Rights Project</u>

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the funding of \$900 to the Campus Ambassadors and the Holocaust, Genocide and Human Rights Project.

b. <u>Resolution to approve the Funding of \$2,198 to the Travel Club</u>

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the funding of \$2,198 to the Travel Club.

c. <u>Resolution to approve Committee Members</u>

Whereas, the President has nominated the following Directors to sit on the following Committees:
Erin Markum on the Finance Committee/Travel Contingency Committee;
Erin Markum, on the Personal Health and Safety Committee;
Sara Idris, and Amanda Merkel on the College Sustainability Committee;
Eddie Visagie and Mazen ElRayess, in the Grievance Hearings Pool;
Tima Marathe, and Amanda Merkel on the Rules Committee;
Lisa Armstrong, Fred Brown, Amanda Merkel, and Erin Markum on the Rock the Vote Committee;
Jason Childers, Elli Kuhn, Tima Marathe, Fred Brown, and Justin Young on the Events Committee, be it *Resolved*, that the Senate consents to the appointment of the above names to sit on the said Committees for the 2009-2010 academic school year.

V. QUESTIONS & COMMENTS

VI. ADJOURNMENT

VII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Student Senators:

Academic Clubs Senator Raja At-Large Senator Blum At-Large Senator Cohen Interdisciplinary Studies Senator Blair Service Clubs Senator Monroe Social Clubs Senator Mac President:Campus Center Advisor:Qasim IjazElizabeth StewartVice President:Faculty Advisor:Jason ChildersJoseph McCauleySpeaker/At-Large Senator:Ted CareyDeputy Speaker/ Science, Health & Business SenatorSimon Ruhindi

Resolutions for the November 10, 2009 Senate Meeting

<u>Resolution to approve the Funding of \$900 to the Campus Ambassadors and the Holocaust, Genocide and Human Rights</u> <u>Project</u>

Whereas, the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate is charged with approval of funding from the Senate Contingency Account when a request is made, be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the funding of \$900 to the Campus Ambassadors and the Holocaust, Genocide and Human Rights Project.

Resolution to approve the Funding of \$2,198 to the Travel Club

Whereas, the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate is charged with approval of funding from the Senate Contingency Account when a request is made, be it

Resolved, that the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Senate approve the funding of \$2,198 to the Travel Club.

Resolution to approve Committee Members

Whereas, under Article III, Section 4E of the Brighton Campus Student Government Association Constitution, the President shall nominate, and by and with the advise and consent of the Senate, shall appoint all members of standing and ad-hoc committees, and

Whereas, the President has nominated the following Directors to sit on the following Committees:

Erin Markum on the Finance Committee/Travel Contingency Committee;

Erin Markum, on the Personal Health and Safety Committee;

Sara Idris, and Amanda Merkel on the College Sustainability Committee;

Eddie Visagie and Mazen ElRayess, in the Grievance Hearings Pool;

Tima Marathe, and Amanda Merkel on the Rules Committee;

Lisa Armstrong, Fred Brown, Amanda Merkel, and Erin Markum on the Rock the Vote Committee;

Jason Childers, Elli Kuhn, Tima Marathe, Fred Brown, and Justin Young on the Events Committee, therefore be it

Resolved, that the Senate consents to the appointment of the above names to sit on the said Committees for the 2009-2010 academic school year.