Microsoft Outlook is more than email. It provides the tools you need to communicate,
manage your calendar, organize messages, and stay productive across devices. Whether
you're scheduling meetings, sharing calendars, managing your inbox, setting up delegates,
or accessing email on the go, Outlook helps MCC employees collaborate efficiently
and keep important information organized. Explore the resources below to learn best
practices, improve email management, and make the most of Outlook's features.
Calendar
Create a New Calendar in Outlook
To create a new calendar in Outlook:
- Open the program to the Calendar view.
- Go to the Folder tab.
- Click on Open Calendar.
- Select Create New Blank Calendar.
- Name your calendar and click OK.
The new calendar will show up in the sidebar with the other calendars.
Sharing a calendar in Outlook
Note: You can only share Outlook calendars with people who have an @monroecc.edu email.
To share a calendar in Outlook:
- In Outlook close all other calendars except the one you want to share.
- In the Home tab click on Share Calendar. A new window will pop up.
- In the “To” field add the people you want to share the calendar with.
- You can check the box next to, “Recipient can add, edit, and delete items in this
calendar,” if you want the recipients to have those privileges.
- Click the Send button.
When the recipients receive the email notifying them that have access to this calendar
they need to click the Open this Calendar button in the email message. The Calendar will now be listed with the other calendars
in their Navigation Pane.
When the employee who created the calendar separates from MCC the calendar will disappear
with their account. To preserve the calendar, another employee can create a new calendar
and then copy items on the old calendar into the new calendar.
Email
Your MCC Outlook email account should be reserved for MCC-related business and emails. You should have a separate,
personal email account for private emails related to personal affairs, shopping, banking
and other financial transactions. One benefit is that by keeping personal email separate
makes it easier to recognize phishing for what it is.
Junk/Spam Mail – Email Quarantine
Microsoft has enhanced our security measures for Outlook and is directing some messages,
identified as spam and/or phishing, to a quarantine for each MCC email account. You
may receive email notifications from quarantine@messaging.microsoft.com about some
of these emails. The notification has links to Review Message, Release, or Block Sender.
Instead of clicking on the link in the email, you can login directly to the Microsoft Defender Portal to access your quarantine.
Finding ‘Junked’ Emails
Someone sent you an email but you do not see it.
- Check your Junk Email folder in Outlook.
- Go to Microsoft Defender Portal and log in with your MCC credentials.
- Look through the list of emails and put a check mark next to the email to review.
- Select Preview Message from the top navigation.
- If the email is valid, select Release to return it to your inbox.
Quick Steps in Outlook
This is an easy way to move emails to a specific folder with one keyboard sequence
or click, saving time. For example, Windows Outlook users can file emails by pressing
control + shift + v and then selecting their desired folder from a list. You can drag
and drop messages, but be careful to drop the email into the desired folder!
You can also create multi-step processes, like reply and delete (if there are no attachments).
How to Create a Quick-Step in Outlook
This is an easy way to do a multi-step process, like create a task and delete the
original email in one-click.
- Right click on an email. Hover over Quick Steps from the drop-down and then choose
an action or hover over New Quick Step and then choose an action.
- Follow the prompts to create the quick step.
- Click the Save or Finish button at the bottom of the quick step set up.
Using a Quick Step
In Outlook, the Quick Steps are in the Home tab in the ribbon. If you pop open a message,
quick steps can also be found in the ribbon of the Message tab.
Click on the quick step action to run it.
Reducing Mailbox Size
We recommend reducing mailbox size by:
- Unsubscribe from organizations that send unwanted email. (search and delete those
emails already received).
- Not using your email to share documents. Instead put the document in a folder that
all parties can access in Teams, OneDrive, or the M drive. You can quickly copy an
M drive path using file explorer. Just do a copy and paste of the address bar.
- There is an article on File Sharing in OneDrive in the Microsoft Tips link in the
sidebar on this page.
Use the Mailbox Cleanup Tool
Go to File > Tools > Mailbox Cleanup
From there you can use “Find items older than” or “Find items larger than” to search
through all your folders to find large emails or old emails.
Rules in Outlook
Use rules to organize your email and keep your inbox in order. Create a rule based
on a message.
- Right-click a message and select Rules > Create Rule.
- Select a condition, and what to do with the message based on the condition.
- When you're done creating the rule, select OK.
- To use the rule right away, click onRun this new rule now on messages already in the
current folder checkbox, and then select OK.
Searching Emails in Outlook
You can type a number of phrases in the Search box at the top of the Outlook message
list.
Use the drop-down next to the search bar to narrow your search.
NOTE: Outlook uses prefix matching. So if you type ray into the Search box, Outlook will return messages that contain ray, like Ray, Raymond,
and rays, but not disarray or tray. Searching for "365" will NOT find messages that
contain "Office365".
You can use AND, NOT, OR to refine your search. Operators should be in uppercase letters.
Search words are not case sensitive.
Examples of Search in Outlook
- If you type in Bob Moore you will get all items that start with bob or moore in them.
- If you type in Bob AND Moore it will return items with Bob and Moore but not necessarily in that order. The email
must have both words in it to get a hit.
- If you type “Bob Moore” with quotes it will search for that exact phrase. Robert Moore will not show up.
- If you type from:”Moore, Bobby” the search will find all the emails from Bobby Moore.
- If you type attachments:presentation.pptx the search will find items that have attachments named presentation.pptx or an attachment
that contains presentation.pptx within its contents. Typing attachments:*.pptx will find all the Power Point attachments.
- If you type in subject:”Bobby Moore” the search will find all the items with Bobby Moore in the subject line.
- Mix and match. If you type from:”Moore, Bobby” about:”status report” the search will find all the emails from Bobby Moore that have the phrase “status
report” in the subject line or body.
Sending Email to the Entire Class Through Outlook
From a Campus Desktop
- In Outlook click on New Email.
- When the window opens, click the To button which opens the Global Address List.
- To search for your class, enter the abbreviation for the semester and the 2 digit
year. For example Fall 2020 would be FL20.
- Fall = FL
- Spring = SP
- Summer = SU
- Intersession = IN
- Follow that with a dash and then the 3 character designation for subject (i.e. BUS,
PPE, NUR).
- Enter another dash and enter the class number.
- Enter another dash and enter the section number. The entire format will look something
like this – SP20-BUS-104-001
- Once the class is highlighted, click Bcc below the search list and then click OK. Do broader searches by leaving off fields. For example, to find all Math classes
you could search for FL20-MTH.
- Your class will now be inserted in the “Bcc” field. If you click the plus sign to
the right, you can expand the list and see the names. It's generally best to "blind
carbon copy," or Bcc, your students so that they don't see each other's email addresses,
and don't accidentally email the entire class when they mean to just email you. You
can address the email to your own MCC email address in the "To" field.
- Now, type up and "Send" your email just as you normally would. Put the course prefix
and section number in the "Subject" field, so that both you and your students can
keep track of which course you're communicating about, and not confuse it with a different
course and/or section.
From the Outlook Web App (OWA) Online
- Access OWA at https://outlook.office.com/mail/ or from the Employee Email in myMCC.
- From Outlook, click New.
- On the right end of the "To" field click on Bcc. It's generally best to "blind carbon copy," or Bcc, your students so that they don't
see each other's email addresses, and don't accidentally email the entire class when
they mean to just email you. You can address the email to your own MCC email address
in the "To" field.
- In the "Bcc" field type in the abbreviation for the semester and the 2 digit year.
(Example: for Fall 2020, enter FL20).
- Fall = FL
- Spring = SP
- Summer = SU
- Intersession = IN
- Follow that with a dash and then the 3 character designation for subject (i.e. BUS,
PPE, NUR).
- Enter another dash and enter the class number.
- Enter another dash and enter the section number. The entire format will look something
like this – SP20-BUS-104-001
- Now, type up and "Send" your email just as you normally would. Put the course prefix
and section number in the "Subject" field, so that both you and your students can
keep track of which course you're communicating about, and not confuse it with a different
course and/or section.
Setting Up Delegates in Outlook
To give someone permission to view/edit your calendar or inbox you must first set
them up as a delegate. This can only be done through Outlook, not the Web App in myMCC.
To setup delegates, open Outlook and do the following:
- Click the File tab and then click the Account Settings button.
- Select Delegate Access from the drop-down menu.
- In the Delegates dialog box, click the Add button.
- In the Add User dialog box, click in the search box and start typing the first few
characters of the person who you wish to delegate rights to.
- Once you find the name, select it and then click the Add button. Click OK.
- In the Delegate Permissions box that pops up select the desired level of rights you
would like the person to have for each Outlook item.
- As an additional step, place a check in the box to automatically send a message to
the delegate summarizing the rights you have given and/or select whether the delegate
can see items marked as private on your calendar.
- Click OK and then OK again.
Setting up Email on Mobile Devices
Important: When you change your MCC Network Account Password, be sure to update it on your mobile
device as well for email and MCC WiFi. You will need to go through Multi-factor Authentication
to set up email on your phone.
Install and Set Up the Outlook Web App
- Go to the Google Play Store or the Apple App Store and install the Microsoft Outlook
app.
- Open the app and select Add Account and then Office 365.
- Next, you will have to fill in your user name and password.
- Then you will have to authenticate.
- At the “Would you like to add another account now?” prompt, choose Maybe Later or Skip (unless you want to add another account).
The Outlook app will have its own icon separate from your phone’s native email app.
Alternate Method of Adding Your MCC Email to your Mobile Device
- On your mobile device, add a new mail account via Microsoft Exchange/Corporate Exchange.
On iOS this can usually be done by going to Settings > Mail > Accounts. On Android
this can usually be done by going to Settings and then Accounts.
- Select Add Account and then Office 365.
- Enter your email address. If Sign in is an option, choose it. Do not choose Manual Setup. It may also ask for you to give
a Description. Name the account whatever you want the account to be called on your
phone.
- Then you will have to authenticate.
- Once these steps are completed successfully, you can find your email by going to your
apps and clicking the email app. Your MCC email should load.
Note: Caution! The contacts in your MCC email account will merge with your phone's
contacts if you use this alternate method. When you separate from MCC, those contacts
will disappear as you will lose access to MCC email.
Taming Your Inbox
Process your messages by using the Four Ds.
- Delete it.
- Do it (respond or file for reference).
- Delegate it (forward).
- Defer it (using categories and flags) for a second review in your task list/email.
Focused Inbox Tips
Best Practices
- Best practice would be to always scan OTHER on a regular basis. (You just need to click on the tab and scan the sender.)
- By default, Outlook posts a notification at the top of the inbox alerting you to new
emails in Other or Focused depending on where you are.
- Change how your messages get organized:
- From your inbox, select the Focused or Other tab, and then right-click the message you want to move.
- If you're moving a single message from Other to Focused, select Move > Move to Focused inbox. Select Always move to Focused inbox if you want all future messages from the sender to be delivered to the Focused tab.
(or vice versa to take something from Focused to Other for future emails).
- Create a Rule
- When an email you would like to appear in the Focused Inbox arrives in the Other Inbox,
click the ellipsis in the upper right corner and choose Advanced actions > Create
rule. Under Always move messages from <sender name> to this folder:, choose Inbox,
then click OK.
How to turn off Focused Inbox in Outlook App
- In the Outlook app, go to the View tab.
- Click on Show Focused Inbox.
The “Show Focused Inbox” button toggles the Focused Inbox setting on or off.
How to turn off Focused Inbox in Outlook online
- Go to https://outlook.com/monroecc.edu or access email from myMCC.
- Click on the settings gear in the upper right-hand corner.
- At the bottom and click on View all Outlook settings.
- The settings should come up with the “Layout” tab selected on the left.
- Under “Focused Inbox,” click on the button next to "Don’t sort my messages."
- Click the Save button.
Turn Off Viva Insights
- Go to https://outlook.com/monroecc.edu or access email from myMCC.
- Click on an email so you can see it in the reading pane.
- In the upper right-hand corner where the “Reply” and “Forward” icons are, click on
the more options icon (the three horizontal dots).
- Next click on Get Add-ins.
- On the left menu, click on My add-ins.
- Find Viva Insights in the list and click on the more options button (the three horizontal
dots) in the corner of the box.
- Then click Remove in the drop down.
Viva Insights should now be removed from Outlook.