MCC Daily Tribune Archive

Administrative Services Annual Meeting

People were in a positive mood as they arrived for the 3rd Annual Administrative Services Divisional meeting in the Warshof Conference Center, Flynn Campus Center, Monroe A & B on June 17, 2010. The purpose of the annual meeting is to acknowledge, recognize, and celebrate all of the division’s initiatives and accomplishments during the past year.

This year, Vice President Heze Simmons introduced and welcomed Ray Shea, Assistant Vice President for Institutional Planning, Effectiveness and Accountability and his staff, Valarie Avalone, Paula Burnside and Lynn Rivers.  Ray Shea described the functions of the Institutional Planning, Effectiveness and Accountability Office and how being a part of the Administrative Services division will facilitate those functions. Darrell Jachim-Moore reviewed the new Budget Resource Committee process and presented highlights of the 2010-2011 budget.  Mike Quinn acknowledged many of the division’s projects and the two Team Building events:  the Fireside Chat with Dr. Anne Kress and the Civility presentation by Lee Struble.  Dave Schottler recognized employees who received the division’s award for going above and beyond the call: Mark Lagana, Karen Chin, John Haines, and Bruce Malin.   New hires were introduced and promotions were recognized.  Dolores Pasto-Ziobro acknowledged the division’s two retirees—Robert Sylvester and Joseph Berry – and presented the “Jack of All Trades” Award to Pam Vandermallie from the Controller’s Office.  Vice President Heze Simmons closed the meeting by recapping some college-wide accomplishments including the inauguration of our fifth president, Dr. Anne M. Kress, sustainability and design awards for the Wolk and PAC Buildings, and the establishment of a shuttle service between Brighton and DCC.

 The Annual Meeting is a great way to take some time to see how all of our individual efforts have contributed to the big picture that is the MCC community!

Zach Kelley
Building Services