Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

AAWCC Elects New Officers

Monroe Community College's chapter of the American Association for Women in Community Colleges elected new officers for 2002-2005. The new officers include:

* President Valarie Avalone, Planning Office
* President-Elect Kelley Bennett, Counseling & Testing
* Secretary Barbara Asam, Admissions
* Treasurer Karen Frantz, Student Support Services

AAWCC celebrates 30 years of success in providing educational and leadership programs for women in community colleges.  Monroe Community College’s chapter was established in 1993.

We invite all MCC women to join our local chapter. We are an organization that encourages and supports personal and professional growth and increases awareness of women's issues through workshops, seminars, and special events. In addition, our local chapter supports community service projects, and fosters networking and mentoring opportunities among the women at the college. Please contact AAWCC Membership Co-Chairs Sally Dingee (Brighton Campus) at x2293 or Anita Cooper (Damon City Campus) at x1707.

Please click on the slide below to view a picture of founding members welcoming the new officers.


Sherry Parks
AAWCC Public Relations/Administrative Services