Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

Hispanic Heritage Month (September 15 - October 15)

Do you know why many people celebrate Hispanic/Latino Heritage Month and why it starts on September 15?

One of the main reasons is to celebrate the rich culture among Spanish-speaking countries and to honor their independence from Spain. September 15 is the anniversary of five Latin American countries that declared their independence from Spain.  Those countries are El Salvador, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua.  In addition, Mexico followed by declaring its independence September 16 and Chile on the 18.

Throughout Hispanic/Latino Heritage Month, you will be reading different facts of individual Hispanic/Latin American countries as well as learning about why the labels Hispanic or Latino exist.   We will close the celebration on October 15 with a big “fiesta” here at MCC. More details to follow!

Jorge Alas
ESOL/Foreign Languages