MCC Daily Tribune

Register Today! Essential Discussions - Inclusive Higher Education: Inspiring Change from Within

Registration is now open for "Inclusive Higher Education: Inspiring Change from Within - the ninth event in our series of Essential Discussions: Conversations at Monroe Community College. The Essential Discussions series explores topics that are shaping the postsecondary agenda.

MCC will host this one-day colloquium on Wednesday, March 13, 2019 from 8:30 a.m. to
4:00 p.m. in the Warshof Conference Center, R. Thomas Flynn Campus Center. The colloquium will explore three aspects of education as they relate to inclusivity: institutional structures, student experience, and teaching practices. Together, we will seek to understand, acknowledge, and value the richly varied demographics of our students, identify potential obstacles to their successes, and develop practical structures and strategies to positively impact learning.

The colloquium keynote speakers are Amalia Dache, Ph.D., assistant professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis, University of Missouri; Althea Jones-Johnson, Finger Lakes Community College alumna and University at Buffalo communication major who is passionate about inclusiveness in higher education; and Stephen John Quaye, Ph.D., associate professor, Student Affairs in Higher Education program, Miami University (Oxford, Ohio). The colloquium will also feature an interactive theater performance by Impact Interactive, LLC that will further engage participants in meaningful discussion and collaborative problem-solving around the important issue of inclusion.

Please register online by March 6, 2019. We hope you will join us!

If you have questions, please send them to: You can also share your comments on this event or topic on Twitter using the hashtag #MCCDiscussion.

I look forward to seeing you in March!

PLEASE NOTE: Except for the Afternoon Theatre Experience, this presentation will also be videostreamed to MCC's Downtown Campus, High Falls A.

Kress, Anne
Office of the President