Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

Monroe Community College Board of Trustees News

NYCCT Trustee Institute and 58th Annual Conference

In September, the New York Community College Trustees, Inc. honored MCC Board of Trustees Vice Chair John Bartolotta and Trustee Howard Konar at the NYCCT Trustee Awards Banquet in Saratoga Springs, NY.

Vice Chair Bartolotta was awarded the Marvin A. Rapp Award for Distinguished Trustee Service. He has been a member of MCC Board of Trustees since July 2008. This award signifies dedicated and effective service as a trustee over an extended period of time. Trustee Howard Konar was awarded the Donald M. Mawhinney Trustee Leadership Award. This award recognizes his significant commitment to the community college mission through exceptional leadership, inspired vision and outstanding professional contributions in support of the goals and accomplishments.

New Student Trustee Susan Fenn attended the NYCCT 58th Annual Conference September 20-23 in Saratoga Springs, NY. Susan is a second-year psychology student. She is a Peer Mentor for the First Year Experience and Orientation Office at MCC and serves on the programming committee. Her academic accomplishments include membership in Phi Theta Kappa honor society and include on the dean’s list in the fall of 2011. She is currently participating in an independent research study via the Psychology Department.

Appointment of New Secretary to the MCC Board of Trustees and President

On October 8, 2012, the Board of Trustees approved the appointment of the Secretary to the Board and President. Linda Hall will join the President’s Office on Monday, October 29. She has been employed at Eastman Kodak Company for 30 years and has provided secretarial support to multiple senior level executives. In her new role, she will serve as the administrative liaison to the Board and provide administrative support for the Office of the President.

Confirmation of Reappointments to MCC Board of Trustees

This week we received notification from the Monroe County Legislature that Trustees Jeffrey A. Adair and John Bartolotta were reappointed to the Board. These reappointments are effective immediately and will expire on June 30, 2018.

Sheila M. Strong
President's Office