Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

M&T Bank to Receive Salute to Excellence Award in November

M&T Bank’s 20-year tradition of leadership and philanthropy to support the success of Monroe Community College students will be recognized at the Monroe Community College Foundation’s 20th annual Salute to Excellence dinner Thursday evening, November 19, at the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. M&T Bank Executive Vice President Brian E. Hickey and Regional President Daniel J. Burns will receive the award on behalf of the bank.

“M&T Bank’s support of public higher education in our community demonstrates a clear understanding of the vital role MCC plays in ensuring access to quality, affordable education,” said Diane L. Shoger, executive director of the MCC Foundation. “With two decades of consecutive board service and contributions in excess of $350,000 to the MCC Foundation’s annual and capital campaigns, M&T Bank is a deserving recipient of the foundation’s highest honor, the Salute to Excellence award.”

Beverly and R. Wayne LeChase (LeChase Construction Services, LLC) serve as honorary chairs for the event. Lauren Dixon (Dixon Schwabl) serves as the dinner chair.

An honored Rochester tradition since 1989, the Salute to Excellence award is a Steuben crystal star, in the shape of the MCC Foundation’s logo. Its design reflects the shining example of the recipient’s personal commitment and generosity to public higher education and the Greater Rochester community. Past recipients of the Salute to Excellence award include Pamela A. and Arunas A. Chesonis, the Louis S. and Molly B. Wolk Foundation, Anne Mulcahy, John L. DiMarco and Bausch & Lomb. Funds raised at the annual dinner support student scholarships, faculty grants and educational innovation at MCC.

Tickets are $100 per person; $75 for MCC faculty, staff and students. For tickets and information, please visit "" or call x1500. The event will begin with a reception at 5:30 p.m., followed by dinner, awards and entertainment at 6:30 p.m.

Stay tuned to the MCC Daily Tribune to find out who will be inducted into the MCC Alumni Hall of Fame at the Salute to Excellence dinner!

Renee St. Louis
MCC Foundation