Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

Honors Roll In for MCC Swimming and Diving

The MCC swimming and diving program put together yet another banner season, and the honors continue to roll in after a successful showing at the NJCAA Championship meet. The Tribune women finished in third place overall and the men were fifth.  Each team once again earned their respective Non-Scholarship championships - the women captured the Spyke Johnson Award, and the men the Al Zamsky Award.

Leading the way individually was sophomore swimmer Tamara Miler, who became the first Tribune in the storied annals of the program to win four events in a single national meet. Miler took first in the 200 free (1:51.96), the 500 free (4:56.44), the 1000 free (10:05.15), and the 1650 free (16:51.33).  All four times set new college, Region III, and Northeast District records, and her 1000 time set a new NJCAA national mark as well.

Miler was named the Female Non-Scholarship Swimmer of the Year for the second consecutive year and remains the only swimmer not from Indian River State College - both men and women - who has won an individual event at the national meet the last two years. In addition, Miler set a new MCC mark for most individual national titles won with six (she also won the 500 and 1650 in 2015).

She was also a featured athlete in the College Sports Beat Spotlight, the link for which may be found here <> .

Monroe also garnered a pair of other honors.  Scott Josephson was named the women's NJCAA Diving Coach of the Year after his diver, Katie Lowry, picked up a pair of second-place finishes at nationals.  It is the second time Josephson has earned this national honor, having done so in 2012 as well. Finally, MCC Director of Athletics Skip Bailey was named this year's recipient of the Dr. Jack Cistriano Service Award for his contributions to NJCAA Swimming and Diving.  Bailey currently serves as the chair of the NJCAA Swimming and Diving committee.

The season also included Region III/Northeast District champions for both the Tribune men and women. It was the 17th straight title for the men, and 12th consecutive for the women.

Athletic Department

icon Tammy National Title with Coaches.jpg