Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune

Swimming and Diving Program Excels at National Meet

The MCC swimming and diving teams wrapped up another successful season by competing at the NJCAA national meet last weekend. The Monroe men won the Al Zamsky Non-Scholarship Team Award after placing third overall.

The Tribunes totaled 450 points to finish behind only champion Indian River and South Georgia State and take top billing for non-scholarship squads. The MCC women finished in eighth place overall and were runner-up for the non-scholarship team award.

The men's coaching staff of Dan Dubois, Dale Pearce, and John Rodman were named the NJCAA Men's Coaches of the Year. In addition, former MCC Director of Athletics Skip Bailey was inducted into the NJCAA Swimming and Diving Hall of Fame.

Monroe was led in the pool by by freshman Gabriel Knaut and sophomore Alicia Shenal, who earned Men's and Women's Non-Scholarship Swimmer of the Meet honors, respectively.

Knaut finished in fourth place overall in the 50, 100, and 200 Freestyles and added a fifth-place effort in the 50 Breaststroke. He also anchored a pair of third-place winning relays while swimming the lead leg in a fourth-place relay performance.

Shenal had a record-setting weekend to earn women's non-scholarship accolades. She placed third in the 100 and 200 Backstrokes and was fourth in the the 50 Back, setting new school, region, and district records in each race. She also finished seventh in the 50 Free and was part of four Top-10 Tribune relay teams. Ben Metzger had a strong meet as well, breaking school and region records in the 50 Fly and 100 IM.

Tom Garigen