Skip to main content

MCC Daily Tribune Archive

2013 David A. Garfinkel Essay Winners Announced

The Democracy Commitment at MCC would like to congratulate everyone who submitted essays for the 2013 The David A. Garfinkel Essay Contest. This year, Robert Johnson of Monroe Community College received an Honorable Mention for his essay.  Please join me in congratulating Robert and his faculty sponsor, Prof. Elizabeth Clifford, Law and Criminal Justice Department.  This contest targets students from community colleges across New York State, offering them the opportunity to submit essays on topics of New York legal history. The competition seeks to draw students with a wide range of interests in law, history, social science and general research writing. The grand prize is $1,500, and the CUNY & SUNY Community College Prizes are $1,000 each. The winners of the competition are honored on Law Day each year held in the magnificent courtroom of the New York Court of Appeals.  Stay tuned for your opportunity to participate in next year’s essay contest. 

Verdis Robinson
The Democracy Commitment