MCC Daily Tribune Archive

MCC Model United Nations Team Receives Distinction

MCC Model United Nations Team Makes Its Mark

The MCC Model United Nations Team competed this past weekend in the National Collegiate Conference at the New York City (the oldest and largest Model UN conference in the world) over a period of seven days.  The Conference offers this program to more than 4,000 college and university students from five continents with diverse cultural, religious and social backgrounds.  We are happy to say that our college received the second highest committee award this year, the “Distinguished Delegation Award”.  There were 250 colleges that competed for this award and Monroe Community College was the only “ two-year” college that received such an award among 250 universities and colleges who competed.

This is the second year in a row that Monroe Community College has been honored.  Last year we were honored with the “Honorable Mention” award, while this year we were able to raise the bar with the second highest award the “Distinguished Delegation Award”.  As a point of interest, the students who were selected as this year’s team were:

·       Charles Green                 LA01

·       Sharon Michele Smith   BU01

·       Carrie Nielsen                  LA06

·       Lucienne Despinosse-Haynes     LH01

·       Robert Parker Utter        BI01

·       Livette Otero                    HM07

·       Andrew Tascione            BI01

·       Kaleigh Colwell                LA11

·       Peter Inthirakath            BI30

·       Colleen Sedita                 LH01

·       Paul McIntyre                  LA04

·       Marisol Martinez            BU01

·       Michelle Mulley              BU01

Congratulations  to our students and thank you Monroe Community College.  A special thank you to Louis Silvers, Donald Beech and Louis Andolino  (the co-faculty members) for their help in making this year’s team the very best it can be.

Shirley Batistta-Provost
Campus Center

icon Model UN 2008.jpg